A Surprising Benefit of Creating Your Own Video Captions

Creating captions can be is a tedious process.  It seems like every time I create captions for a video, I find myself wondering, “is this really worth it?”  I know captioned videos provide many positive benefits to student learning which are more than worth the investment of time into the captioning process, so I was pleasantly surprised to discover another, more personal benefit to captioning my own videos.  Captioning can help you improve your public speaking.

Typing a word or phrase into your video caption track for the 7th time in the last 30 seconds makes it easy to identify those words and phrases that you say a little too often.    Trying to line up captions to the audio also increases your awareness of the use of filler sounds like “um” and “ah” between thoughts.  As the cartoon G.I. Joe used to say, “knowing is half the battle.”  I found that once I identified those repeating words and overused filler sounds, the next time I was speaking I could focus on eliminating them.  When you find yourself dreading the creation of video captions, remind yourself of all the great benefits your students will reap from having them as an instructional resource and then think about how the captioning process is going to help you improve your speaking abilities.

If you want to learn more about how to create your own captions in Camtasia, I recommend you watch the webinar my colleague, Marc Drumm recorded in the Fall of 2015 on Captioning Your Course Videos.

Published by

Tom Pantazes

Tom is an instructional designer with The Office of Distance Education at West Chester University. He has a Master of Arts in Education from the College of William and Mary, is a LERN Certified Faculty Developer, and a licensed secondary social studies teacher with a diverse set of face-to-face and online teaching experiences.

Leave a Reply

